The Russian Collection Vol. X,
Selected Concert Works
for the Russian seven-string guitar.

Compiled and edited by Matanya Ophee.

44 pp. $19.95, Presser Order number 494-02824 (PWYS-90)

To view first line incipits click here.

As the previous volume of the Russian Collection, this volume is also intended to serve as a general introduction to Russian seven-string guitar music. The music contained in these pages is mainly devoted to concert repertoire, i.e, transcriptions, themes and variations, fantasias and other pieces that were not primarily intended by their composers to serve as didactic material.  One does not need to abandon the standard guitar when embarking on getting acquainted with the rich repertoire of classical Russian guitar music. This volume includes the original 7-string version of some of the same pieces included in previous volumes of the Russian Collection, as well as a few works printed here for the first time in the West. The six-string guitar is tuned in fourths, while the Russian seven-string guitar is tuned in thirds as follows:

The technique of playing both variants is practically the same but the aural palette produced by a different array of overtones is unique to each of them. It usually does not take long to get used to playing in this tuning and to read the music without the aid of tablature. However, to facilitate reading of this music by newcomers into the field, this edition is equipped with a generous layer of fingering.

Copyright © 2008 by Editions Orphée, Inc. All Rights Reserved.



Editions Orphée, Inc.,
1240 Clubview Blvd. N.
Columbus, OH 43235-1226
All our sales are processed by our distributor, the Theodore Presser Company.
In case of any problems with delivery of your orders, please get in touch with them directly:
588 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406-2800, USA.
PHONE: 610-592-1222 Ext.163 or 1-800-854-6764 Ext.163 (Toll Free)
Last Modified: Friday, November 18, 2011 09:52 PM