Jan Freidlin: Strophes of Sappho

Five Postludes for Harp

Arranged for harp from the original guitar solo by
Adina Haroz and Jan Freidlin.

16 pp., $7.95, Presser Order number 494-02356 (HARP-1)

To view first line incipits click here.

strophes.jpgThe verses by Sappho are intended to be read aloud prior to the performance of each Postlude. The Postludes may be performed with equivalent translations to other languages. At the discretion of the harpist, these short epigrams may be omitted. The text is based on the versions published in “Poetarum Lesbiorum Fragmenta,” (Oxford, 1955) edited by Edgar Lobel and Denys Page.

freidlin.jpgJan Freidlin was born in southern Siberia in 1944 and studied in Odessa where he later taught as Head of the Music Theory department at the famous Stolyarsky Special Music College. He currently teaches at the Levinsky Teachers College in Tel Aviv. Jan Freidlin received the Grand Prix of Varna International Cinema Festival (1978), the AKUM Prize (Israel) for “Miscenscens”—Sonata for Violin & Cello (1993), 2nd Prize for “Letters from Arles” for Guitar at the 1995 Guitar Foundation of America Competition, the Liberson Prize for Piano Trio Nº 2 (Israel, 1995). His works were performed in the former USSR, Germany, France ,UK, Italy, Australia, Brasil, USA. His “Sonata in Three Visions” for Solo Harp was chosen by the International Harp Contest in Israel for the 1998 Contest as the required Israeli work.

Copyright © 1999 by Editions Orphée, Inc. All Rights Reserved.



Editions Orphée, Inc.,
1240 Clubview Blvd. N.
Columbus, OH 43235-1226
All our sales are processed by our distributor, the Theodore Presser Company. In case of any problems with delivery of your orders, please get in touch with them directly: 588 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406-2800, USA. PHONE: 610-592-1222 Ext.163 or 1-800-854-6764 Ext.163 (Toll Free) EMAIL: sales@presser.com
Last Modified: Saturday, November 19, 2011 11:10 AM